Community Spirit

Volunteer duties called this afternoon for car park marshalling, meeting and greeting. The surgery were going to run the mini vaccination clinic without marshals today but had second thoughts this morning and called us in for two shifts this afternoon.

It was a lovely sunny but crisp day and we had five vaccine patients every five minutes so time flew by.

I met one lady who was so anxious as she hadn’t left the house in six months. Her husband was trying to hurry her and so I stalled him by chatting from a safe distance to explain how the wheelchair brakes worked and made a joke about not racing his wife across the car park. “It’s not the Charing Races today Sir!”

My humour worked and the lady seemed relaxed by the time she reached the surgery entrance and she enjoyed her husband getting a ticking off.

After volunteer duties my lovely friend dispatched her hubby to come to my rescue with a tyre pump as I had a deflated tyre to sort out. He followed me the one mile journey to the garage to make sure it didn’t run flat again too.

I’d expected the garage just to do a quick look on the tyre bath to see if I needed a repair or replacement and was expecting to have to return tomorrow as they were past closing time but they fixed the puncture there and then.

When I enquired how much for the repair the garage manager said “Usually £25 + VAT but for young ladies who are volunteering in the cold for our community there is no charge. Thank you for all you are doing!”

I was so touched by the garage’s kindness and that of my friend’s hubby so will be baking some goodies to say thank you. Feeling the community spirit today.

I felt a bit stupid while tidying up my car boot after the garage visit (why do locking wheel nuts always hide themselves?) as I discovered a mobility kit for pumping tyres! At least I know for next time and I can rescue myself.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.