Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Semaphore Tower

Unlike for many people in the UK, the snow forcast yesterday did not materialise, and it was a dull, miserable day weatherwise. So I spent my support bubble visit with Mum reorganising her lounge to try to reduce some of the clutter and provide her easier access to her CDs.

With warmer weather on the way I thought I had missed out on any "snow fix".

However I was delighted to note that as I headed westward and home today, the countryside gradually got whiter and whiter.  So I stopped off at Ockham Common for my exercise walk, and headed onto Chatley Heath (extra), and a walk up to the Semaphore Tower.

The tower is the best preserved of towers from the Napoleonic era providing a vital link in a signalling chain to transmit messages between Admiralty House in London to Portsmouth Docks in a matter of minutes. The last time I visited it was undergoing restoration and was surrounded by scaffold, but the work is now clearly complete, and it was looking wonderful in the sunshine and snow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.