Almondblossom

By Almondblossom

Icy shadows

On my way home this morning from a very snowy Peterborough for my second of five annual 'surveillance' mammograms I needed some icy fresh air so stopped at one of my favourite places, a gigantic meadow by the river Great Ouse, which often features in my blips. I've never seen it both flooded and frozen before; the snow was an added visual bonus. It was so cold! Minus something even at 1pm. The shadows thrown by the trees onto the ice brought to my mind the gorgeous cut out animations of the German film director Lotte Reiniger so it had to be my blip today. I couldn't get the image I wanted without me in it, which on reflection (sorry...) is just right for such an occasion. 

The first extra is another part of the same meadow, also frozen and with a handy crow taking off for a nice bit of contrast. The second one is the much-tested floodbank that I walked along to take pic 1. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.