Burns Night

Jan 25th is poet Robert Burns’ birthday and celebrated by Scots worldwide. There is often a supper, speeches, poetry reading and whisky. The supper usually consists of Haggis, neeps and tatties. Well, I didn’t read any poetry or make any speeches I and didn’t drink any whisky, but I LOVE haggis so it doesn’t take much persuasion for me to make a meal of it! Very yummy!

Neeps = turnips or swede (rutabaga in American English)
Tatties - potatoes
How to catch a haggis

In other news - it was a super sunny day - bright blue sky, but it was cold and much of the snow stayed on the ground all day. Mr Snowman from yesterday is still with me! I decided to continue with the picnic idea I started yesterday and it was just about warm enough in the sunshine. I had soup and a grilled cheese sandwich and later on a coffee and a mince pie. The sunlight was lovely! See Extra photo.

There was no walk today as I could tell it would be too slippery. I had two Zoom meetings - a church group this morning and a work meeting this afternoon, a few phone calls and a Waitrose click and collect late afternoon. I may not be working much these days but I’m usually busy enough to never get bored!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.