Mono Monday

The photos are both in colour not B&W. Snow started in the night and had a good performance most of the day, accompanied by a really nasty cold wind.

At 12:00 I went to clear our drive entrance as I knew one very unimportant parcel was going to be delivered and hoped above hope that a second very important one would have found itself on the postman's van. It has the spare parts for my snowblower, was scheduled on Friday to be delivered today but since Saturday the tracking system for it hasn't had an update. The other unimportant parcel, also from Friday has had several updates plus an email it would arrive today.

I went to clear the entrance a) because it is my duty to make it safe for the driver and b) I didn't want him risking driving up to the house as he may have got stuck.

The left (road) photo was taken at that time. The snow is much less on this part of the road as our property tree/hedge stops the snow in the strong wind. The skidding snowball is a lump that has fallen off a car trailer as it went over the tiny expansion slit in the bridge tarmac. Invisible to the naked idea, the slit causes trailers, in particular empty ones to bounce and is very noisy.

After 90 mins of clearing in and around the entrance, much of it wasted, I gave up waiting for the postman who you can normally set your clock by and closed the gates so that he couldn't drive in. I knew he would put the unimportant parcel in our large letter box. And indeed 30 mins later, I caught a glimpse of the van driving away and the parcel was there.

The right-hand photo of the bench gives an impression of snow we now have. It sits in the open subject to the sun we have had and so has melted and compacted over the last week.

Strangely the sun came out briefly as Luna and I set off for the evening walk and I yet again underestimated the wind - problem with having  the forest directly next to our property on the west windward side, we don't really notice it. Over open fields where we went, the wind was very fresh & apparently -7°C RealFeel. The tracks again with fresh snow, partly drifts but not quite as heavy as the last few days.

More snow due tonight, and I now have a messafe that the blower parts will be delivered as well. I somehow doubt, assuming I manage to carry out the repairs, that the machine can do much about most of the ice/snow mix we now have over the entire paved/drive/carpark areas.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.