My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

"Better than Richard Wright"

Everton 3 Oldham 1
Job done! Although it could potentially have been a whole lot worse. Only Everton can make you nervous when winning 3-0. It's almost as though they think it's not entertaining enough. Credit to Oldham though, they harried and pressed us all night and it wasn't for lack of effort that they lost.
Hopefully the next round, against Wigan, will be just as straightforward...

This is Oldham's goalkeeping coach, former Everton and Oldham 'keeper, Paul Gerrard. I didn't see Gerrard play that often when he was at Everton but I've just been reading Neville Southall's -greatest goalkeeper in the world- autobiography, The Binman Chronicles, and he mentions Gerrard.

"Was Paul good enough? He was certainly better than some of the people who followed me into the Everton goal, like Richard Wright.
Was he better than me at the time? I don't think he was - but then I would say that!"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.