From the Internet:
Den lille Havfrue, The Little Mermaid is a bronze statue by Edvard Eriksen, depicting a mermaid becoming human. The sculpture is displayed on a rock by the waterside at the Langlinie promenade in Copenhagen, Denmark. It is 1.25 metres (4.1 ft) tall and weighs 175 kilograms. 
Based on the 1837 fairy tale by Danish author Hans Christian Andersen, the small and unimposing statue is a Copenhagen icon and has been a major tourist attraction since its unveiling in 1913.


The HG and I visited Copenhagen while cruising the Baltic a few years ago.  While there I purchased this small copy of the mermaid which enchanted me in its setting.  This was the second time I had seen her, but the first time I was a penniless teenager and couldn't afford a souvenir.  This time I could.

The weather is pretty nasty today, dreich with a cold wind and at times sleeting and snowing.  So I am staying warm at home, which is why I am submitting this for Tiny Tuesday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.