Apples and Oranges

By Anitsirk

My cough has worsened again over the last days. Difficult to sleep, yet again. I'm drinking warm honey and lemon water, and no milk in my tea in the evening. Actually, just one cup of black tea with milk/day now, because the milk worsens one aspect of the cough. No need to explain that further... 
I need to speak with my doctor about this too. 
At least I wasn't as tired as I thought I'd be today, after yesterdays errands. One small step in the right direction, at least... and two steps back with the cough. Oh, well...

So, this is another 'shot through my window' blip... and a while after I took this I begun to hear the sound of a spinning wheel. At first I thought it was someone playing around, but when I looked outside my window I saw that it was my neighbour in his car, stuck in the ice formations just outside the road leading into the courtyard. One of his (my neighbour is a bus driver) coworkers tried to help, but was forced to go back to the bus and drive off. I thought perhaps some cardboard would help, so I went outside. It didn't work, but he was thankful for my help anyway, and we vented our frustration about the ill kept entrance. Last year, I think it was... I blipped the state of the road outside the entrance to the courtyard... thick ice, filled with large holes and cracks. Enough for a car to get totally stuck and even damaged. 
Another coworker of his came out of his bus and suggested fir branches under the wheels for grip on the ice. Apparently he'd used that when the bus he was driving got stuck. So my neighbour tried that, and his coworker tried to rock the car so the wheels would get a grip. Didn't work... I talked a bit with his coworker and he said that it's difficult for the buses too, to drive on this potholed thick ice. I estimated it about 5 cm thick, or even more, and when I saw that one of the wheels of the car was in one of those potholes... I knew he had to have professional help, or at least another car. He's now waiting for help to get his car freed. 
As I was writing this, another neighbour came in his car and managed to drag my neighbour free. I stod in the window cheering them on! :D 

Now, our landlord has to do something about this icy mess! It's not very fun to walk on either... the large potholes usually filled with water and the ice is really slippery. I always thank my lucky star every time I manage to cross it without falling.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.