101

Really stuck for a blip photo today, so decided to dig out this old photo of my Mum (Left) and her sister, my name's sake Tamara. My Mum was born in 1919, so I'm reckoning this must be 101 years old. I've got lots of photos from that time, they are in remakablely good condition too. My Mum was Latvian, and had an incredibly interesting life. After WW11 she was 'stateless', and the UK offered her citizenship, making me the first generation of a migrant! 

She nursed in Germany through the war, and when she came over here she retrained as an SRN while learning the language. She had the strongest accent that no one could place. She was brought up speaking Russian at home, German at school and Latvian to the servants and her Nanny.

Sadly Tamara died at 16 years old, soo I never met her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.