Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Worlds largest jumping spider

Hyllus giganteus

Probably a debatable point, but certainly one of the largest.

Unlike many members of the arachnid family, the males of hyllus are large enough to hold their own against a hungry female, although it is still a dangerous game. This male was huge, quite a shock when you first see it, scampering around the underside of a banana leaf. Body length about ¾" and over an inch across the legs as seen in this image.

I was only able to fire off one shot before he disappeared into the structure of the leaf root. But, now I know where he lives. I only very occasionally see these monster jumpers, in fact, I think this is only my second spotting since I started blipping.

The final installment of the road trip to Singapore is published. Many thanks to all those who have followed my little adventure, your comments have been deeply appreciated.

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.