Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Keeping an eye on things ...

I realised today that with life the way it is just now, there are few opportunities for days that stand out, or days that feel like an anti-climax; nothing happens, days are all the same, emotions theoretically should run on an even keel. Except that they don't. And today I realised felt anti-climactic simply because I enjoyed one hour of yesterday. That chance to enlarge upon a favourite poem to a group of intelligent adults gave me a lift the extent of which I'm only beginning to grasp. It also got me thinking about poems and poets again, what makes them special, why they're important - even in a world where the vital people seem to be scientists and epidemiologists and health professionals.

At least we got some recording done today, nice and early for Sunday, without any retakes needed. I thought I'd go for a change of viewpoint for today's blip - a bird's eye view, if you like - and have a close-up of the brass eagle lectern, gazing sternly at the empty church as if to deter any trouble while we're not able to be there. And yes, it was cold - but marginally less so than last time. 

We also got a walk, in a fine drizzle that had ensured no ice would be left to catch us unawares. Because the greens were so green, I'm going for an extra of Loch Eck in the late afternoon - imagine the mingled scents of wet grass and moss with the distant smoke smell of someone's wood fire. Later, I cooked dinner to the accompaniment of many pings as my family texted messages about the cooking of prawn crackers and whether or not it was time to come downstairs (this in Edinburgh - could have been all in the same house for all the distinction my youngest grandchild made with her texts). It was hilarious and fairly livened the cooking ...

Learned before (online) Compline that several of those attending have now had either their vaccination or a letter. There was a suggestion that the over 75s are being phoned ... 

All very exciting. I think.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.