Catastrophe Quilt

My last quilt was the Covid quilt. While I've been working on this one, in addition to Covid we've  had fire, flood and our dog died so the name seems appropriate.  My friend who commissioned it is going to give it to her daughter for her birthday, but her daughter doesn't need to know that that is what i call it! I was working on it all day today so even though it is just a picture I took as part of my process on a work in progress, it's the only picture I took today. (One reason I do this is that it makes the squares that don't belong really stand out. There is definitely one in there I think I'll probably have to do over.)

The giant storm we were warned endlessly about never really materialized. It was just a rainstorm. It appears that counties south of us are really getting pounded. For us, there were some pretty high winds during the night, but the only casualty was our outdoor umbrella. It was closed and in its stand, but the wind lifted it out of the stand and flung it across the porch. Something to think about with the arbor we are designing....There was some flooding in the laguna but that happens just about every time it rains....Now it's snowing in higher parts of the county.

On the Covid front, things are looking up. Dana sent me a text with a link to a site where one of her co-workers managed to sign up for a vaccination. I spent about half an hour inventing passwords and usernames with between 14 and 30 characters, at least one upper case letter, at least one number and one character. Maybe they're still trying to make sure everybody who gets a shot is still compos mentis!  The first date I was offered was Jan 30, but after trying three different times to no avail, I was then offered Feb 24. so I took it. The strange thing about this is that it is a random government organization that came to me basically through word of mouth. Seems like a strange way to find out about something so important, but it does seem like Biden must be getting things done....

Thank you all for your positive thoughts. I'm glad we didn't have to leave home again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.