Living Room

This fold out bed was in the Walken cupboard when we moved in here. From having a look about the interweb I've found out that these beds were used by 'high ranking officers' in WW1 and the Boer War. It's a beautiful piece of furniture and history. Rose has been lying on it when watching TV of late. I wonder how it got here. This house was in the hands of one family from when it was first sold to well into the 1900s. Since about the 1950s I think it's had about 6 owners. So, the bed, most likely made it here as a result of that first family.

Edit, my response to Lonely, I thought, was worth being up here in the main description too (I did mean to put something like this in but for some reason didn't):

It's amazing. I wonder of the different purposes; Rose watching TV. Some Scottish officer trying to sleep in the midst of a fucking war!

Has it been all the way to Africa during the Boer war? Was it in Germany, France, Italy in WWI? Was it in the Spanish Civil War? And all the way back to Scotland.

Crazy shit.


Some backflips:

Peeeeeeej
On the pull
Fix my lens
Jobbie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.