HClaireB

By HClaireB

Coming in to land

It was very windy today which didn't deter the red kites from carrying on building their nest.  I decided to make my life a bit easier by leaving my tripod set up in the spare bedroom where I can glimpse the nest.  This means that provided I use the same camera (old trusty Canon 5Diii) and lens (Sigma 150-600mm bought specifically for the kites), I don't need to set everything up from scratch each time I see them.  Just spotting their nest in the tangle of branches is like looking for a needle in a haystack.

The extra shows the set-up.  The lens at 600mm and camera with live view at 5x magnification.  This is at the limit of the gear and until the light improves the shots won't be very good - ISO too high.  And in 9 weeks time there will be too many leaves on the trees - nice thought!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.