Can't See the (Asparagus) Forest for the Trees

The conversation:

"How old are these trees? Do you think they're older than the sequoias?"

"Check your pockets! Did anybody remember to bring a machete?"

"Do pterodactyls live up there? I thought I saw something looking out at us!"

"I'm not saying I'd like to build a summer home here or anything, but the trees are actually quite lovely . . . " (Note: This last quote was shamelessly stolen from The Princess Bride, a movie I adore. If you haven't seen it, I highly recommend it!)

The actual conversation . . .

. . . as my husband caught me in the bathroom, carefully arranging the asparagus tips (that we planned to have for dinner) on the bathroom sink:

"You know, my MOTHER would never TOLERATE this sort of thing in HER kitchen!" *disapproving head-shake*

Setting all conversations aside, the asparagus tips (steamed in the microwave and lightly topped with butter) were fresh and DELICIOUS. I remember them fondly. The song to accompany this bit of asparagus whimsy: Enya's The Memory of Trees.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.