Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Slightly the Worse for Wear

Busy day, three visits to investigate businesses where Covid outbreaks had occurred in the last few days.  Things are ramping up at the moment, despite the recent reduction in confirmed cases nationally, we seem to be in a bit of a hotspot area, possible due to the new variant of the virus.  Of the two where I was able to complete all of my assessments the one showed failures of control which had led to almost half the workforce of twenty-two getting the infection in the last week.  I'd visited them when I first returned to work and they were less than amenable to the advice I was offering at the time.  A different story this time around!  It's a hard lesson to learn.

The other business has over 500 employees and just a handful of cases.  Still we were able to identify the likely vector of transmission and they were quick to make changes to their procedures to limit the chances of it happening again.  While there I was given a short tour of the factory where they make parts of various JLR models.  It was fascinating how automated the manufacture had become.  In the main the employees were left to feed the parts into various machines to cut, press, weld and clean the items, and then stack them for despatch.  How times have changed.

I just had a few minutes at lunchtime to visit an old haunt where I could always find some snow drops.  Sadly they have taken a bit of a battering with the rain and snow of the last few days and I didn't have time to  clean them of the soil that had covered some of the blooms.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.