Biker Girl

Miss L asked at lunchtime if she could go for a bike ride for her PE lesson this afternoon. She hasn't been going out much so I jumped at the chance. 
We had a lovely time. Lots of zooming about for her on her bike and brisk walking for me. She pretended she didn't hear me when I suggested we do it every day!
Before we went I made a vat of carrot, lentil and cumin soup. Should keep me going for a month or two.
We had an online parent's evening for Miss E tonight. We've not had a parent's evening since Miss E's been at secondary school so it was all a bit nerve-wracking. I didn't really know what to expect. We had appointments with eight teachers via video call which I was dreading. I generally avoid video calls!
I needn't have worried - apart from the hideousness of seeing myself in the corner of the screen and having to remind myself to look at the teacher rather than myself - it was brilliant!
Proud Mum alert!!
It was fairly unanimous that she's a delight! Hard-working, bright, talented, keen, enthusiastic, engaged and engaging. They all sound like they love her!! She was sat with us, out of sight, so it was lovely for her to hear.
They have to submit their GCSE options this week (she's 12!!!!!!!!!) so it was nice to hear confirmation that she shouldn't have any problems with the subjects she's chosen. The English teacher literally crossed her fingers and said she's already counting on Miss E being in her A-Level class. 
She gets that from me!!
The maths teacher recommended some extension work she can do online as she's already doing GCSE work.
She gets that from me too*
The drama teacher was delighted to hear she's chosen drama. He has high hopes for her. He wasn't working at the school last year but was a judge at the House Drama event and awarded the win to Miss E's group. Whoop whoop!
All in all a pretty good evening! She does make us proud. And, as always, it's wonderful to see her proud of herself.
It was exhausting though - the appointments were five minutes long, a timer counting down to let you know when you were going to get cut off and automatically connected to the next one. I was ready for a lie down after the last one so God knows how the teachers feel!
I spoke to my mum today and they had just been invited for the vaccine next Wednesday and the second one booked for April. Yay!

*Not really! That's all Mr K! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.