curns' corner

By curns

Yellow

I scribble a lot when making notes during my working day. I draw lines, connect things, and I certainly don’t keep my writing between the lines. Many of my notes become illegible within a few hours - I can’t read what I wrote. But these are the scrawls that allow me to lock in the information in my brain.

I have a proper - what I think of as a grown-up - notebook to write notes in when I am working in the office. I am more judicious about what I write in the notebook. But, when just working, making lists, writing reminders or doodling during a meeting, an expensive notebook would be wasted.

As few years ago, I bought a stack of yellow pads that I have slowly been using. We associate these pads with lawyers and my Amazon search for them was for ‘legal pads’. I am certainly not a solicitor - or connected to the legal profession in any way. I really only use them when working at home. And I only use them for work which means that I don’t need to look at anything yellow on weekends. As a result, in the last year, I gone through that stack of pads at a much greater speed than over the preceding years. I just took delivery of the next pack: the second set of yellow paper pads I’ve had in the house.

And, slightly disappointingly, they are not as yellow as my previous set. They don’t quite look right.

It appears nobody really knows the history of the yellow colour of the pads. The Internet suggests that there is some research to say yellow stimulates the mind. I guess my mind will be a little less stimulated until I’ve worked by way through current pack.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.