karisfitch

By karisfitch

A Humble Heart

Have really been enjoying this week’s Lectio365 readings (especially hearing a good old NI accent reading the passages!!)
They’ve been a wonderful reminder at the start of each day, looking at having a humble and childlike heart.

“In just a few sentences, Jesus has exposed one of the biggest idols I face; being approved of and appreciated by others. Every day, I read news stories glorifying the generous, highlighting the honourable, celebrating celebrity. But the way of Jesus is actively set against popularity culture. He calls me to practice the very opposite of what the human heart often desires. I am called to serve in secret, for the glory of
God, alone.”

I find it a constant battle to check my heart in this area. Especially on placement, where there can often be an undercurrent of competition as students strive to prove themselves, fearing comparison whilst being quizzed on ward rounds...one reason why I’m so thankful to be paired with this girl again! Her heart is completely the opposite, genuinely preferring to make others look better than herself, and always remembering the motivation behind her studies.

“The message is clear, if I’m consumed with getting ahead, with being and doing better than others, then I’ve misunderstood the heart of God’s kingdom and the character of its King.”

Paul mentioned last night about a colleague of his who “sees everyone as a human being.” Who doesn’t discriminate between residents and staff, seeing people as a different “kind” of person, perhaps a “lesser” kind. What a wonderful way to be! Oh if the whole world could see that way! I’ll start with asking God to change my own heart.

“Rather, in humility value others above yourselves, not looking to your own interests but each of you to the interests of the others.”

For this is the way that we ourselves have been loved.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.