be more dog

This is my favourite time of day, when D, Jess and I sit (or lie) on the rug in front of the Aga. Drinking coffee, a bit of knitting but not much else. Just enjoying the transition from sleep to whatever the rest of the day might bring...one of the luxuries of lockdown.

Yesterday I was reading about Shackleton’s “Endurance “ expedition and looking at the photographs by Frank Hurley. Two amazing men. Whenever I am tempted to complain about lockdown, I will remind myself of the 22 men left on Elephant Island for five months, living in an upturned lifeboat and not expecting ever to be rescued:

“ On most days, the men would rise at 9am, eat fried penguin steaks, retire to their bags to await a lunch of stewed penguin, retire to their bags until dinner (almost always stewed seal) and again retire to their bags..then, between 5pm and 6pm , Martin would read recipes from his small penny cookbook or they listened as Hussey tortured the banjo with what McNish had called his ‘six known tunes’.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.