curns' corner

By curns

Wimbledon Common

This is Wimbledon Common, on the path that leads to Crooked Billet.  It’s one of routes for my daily walk that makes a nice loop back home. Today’s walk was, door-to-door, 4 miles (which was much easier than yesterday).  I was very lucky on my today as it wasn’t raining.  It seemed to be pouring for most of the night and part of the morning but it brightened up before lunch. But everywhere is sodden with lots of standing water or a mini river flowing off land, across pavements, into drains.

I was looking for a puddle of water that had an interesting reflection as I thought it might make a nice picture. But I really didn’t come up with anything. This was the closest I got, a few trees reflecting in pool that’s formed on the edge of the common by the road.

There’s another picture of the Common that was taken in December where it looks considerably drier.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.