Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Water Rail :-D)

This morning I had to drive to the local pet shop to buy a cat carrier because my boy Stan (parrot) has to go to an avian vet on Monday to have a suspicious lump on his lower back investigated. I'm hoping it is a blocked preen gland. Worrying times :-( 

Partly due to this I've been feeling a bit low/flat so this afternoon I went out with the camera.

Hackney Marshes in the sun seemed like a good choice.

I walked to the (KF) bridge and the little star was there but sitting in the shaded area - 2nd extra When eventually it flew closer I could see it was definitely a female so a different bird from yesterday.
I stood watching as she flew up and down a few times and then suddenly she was briefly joined by another KF. With breeding season about to begin, it is feasible that a pair has formed.
At one point she flew towards me but instead of perching on a near reed, she shot straight over my head. WOW!

On the way back to the car I stopped beside a willow screen to watch a muddy patch left by the receding tide. There, to my surprise, was a Water Rail, happily feeding in the mud. They are such secretive, nervous birds so I was delighted to watch it for 20 minutes. Then, amazingly, a female appeared but she was far less relaxed. I did manage a quick shot of the pair of them together - 1st extra - just to record the moment.WOW!

Finally, well after sunset, I walked back to my car only to see another pair of KF's zooming up and around another stretch of the river.WOW!

Before leaving the car park, yet another KF was diving into the river right in front of me .... no longer feeling low :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.