Winter Mud and Byways

Trying to make the most of being locked down locally, I've set my mind to exploring local footpaths that I've never walked or run before. To my great surprise and shame, I'm finding many little sections that are not too far away. In my defence, living so close to Ilkley Moor, there's never much of a pull from the valley. It's good to have saved them to provide some novelty of experience right now.

For the first time ever, I planned an expedition today to the Chevin and back from home, jogging down to Burley to meet E, then walking an intricate route to catch as many new byways as I could, exploring the forest park on new routes too, before returning home using yet more new bits of footpath. Leaving E at Burley, the jog home was a slow one. The route came in at about 17 miles.

We found ourselves crossing the old disused branch railway line a few times. I'd seen it on the map but have never had reason to explore it before. It's the first time I've ever had a sense of it on the ground. Those Beeching cuts felt sadder than ever today. It would be well used now I imagine, being able to take a direct train to Otley and on to Harrogate. We spoke to someone who suggested that Sustrans hope to put a few bridges back in place and turn a good section of it into a cycleway. That would be brilliant.

This shot is not part of the railway line but it does illustrate some of the mud that was everywhere underfoot today. It was hard work. For once, the weather was both mild and dry, with very little wind. It was a grand day out.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.