HeartFreek

By HeartFreek

Terrible accident

2 days ago, Bear had the most terrible accident.

We were on Ashdown Forest when we came across a heard of deer. Bear had never seen deer before and unlike her, decided to chase them. I then heard the most awful crack and Bear started yelping. I first thought she had got caught in a trap but then saw her limping back to us in a very sorry state.
It wasn't obvious at first what had happened but then as I stroked her, I felt a lump in her side, then found a hole in her skin.

She had run into a fence post as it lay in its side and the fence post impaled her, then snapped off, leaving this 10cm lump of wood deep inside her.
The trouble was, we were miles from the car so the next hour was total agony for her and for me watching her. It was just the most terrible moment and hard even now to relive.

She was in the vet hospital for 3 days. The wound itself is just too graphic to show on here, but if your squeemish, don't scroll to the next picture.
I was quite shocked when I collected her as they had to make a wound at least 30 or 40 cm long to extricate the wood and clean it all up. She was left with a body bandage and a drain that I had to clean and sedatives to keep her calm, not to mention the 'collar' she HATED!!!

Anyway, I am glad to say, she is now fit an well but was left with a vet phobia for several years afterwards!

This is the wood they removed from her side. Not sure why I was given it!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.