Burradoo Journal

By Burradoo

Dear Mum

We have been watching Long Lost Family, a TV program in which people are helped to find lost or unknown members of their family. Participants often write to their lost person before they actually meet, and I have been interested to see how often those letters are written on pages torn out of spiral notebooks, like the one in the photo.
 
I suppose lots of people no longer possess an old fashioned writing pad – remember Basildon Bond? A search of my desk retrieved an ‘onion skin’ airmail pad which I used for writing home when I first moved to Australia. I think it must be forty years old. I also have hundreds of blue aerogramme letters from my mother and family in England. Aerogrammes could be a challenge. They had a fixed amount of space, so if it wasn’t enough you ended up doing cross writing, like a Victorian lady. On the other hand you could find yourself scratching for something to say on that wretched extra bit of space on the back.
 
Nowadays, for me writing a letter is likely to mean an email or a WhatsApp. The nearest I get to a real letter is to type or dictate the letter and then print it out, on office paper. It’s really not quite the same as sitting down with pad and pen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.