SamAgainPlease

By SamAgainPlease

Evaa Was Here

Our 6 foot tall "boy" went away this weekend up to Raymond Terrace playing Ultimate.  He used to play centre-field - "he's got a reach like a sick dog" as my dad says.

We had a quiet day at home doing odd jobs and the SMH quiz.  It was a tough one today.  I was reminded that a giant iceberg about the size of Singapore is heading towards South Georgia (although I believe it is rapidly breaking up).  It's been heading that way for a few years now if my memory serves me and used to be about the same size as South Georgia.

The rain stopped this morning but it was still cloudy until about 5pm.  Once the sun came out we drove down to the beach and promenaded with Ellie.  I got excited at one point because I thought I'd found some graffiti (see my lamentation from two days ago) but then realized it was a council sanctioned mini-mural.  It was pretty - but the only shot I could get of it was boring so I didn't even try.

Came across what could be described as "ephemeral graffiti" (assuming the 9 year old perpetrator was aware that the tide was coming in) so decided this would have to do for today's shot.
-----------------
I took receipt of an "old" Nikon 200mm F4 Micro lens yesterday. Based on the serial number it must be close to 20 years old but looks unused.  Second hand on eBay from a Japanese seller.  I spent an hour or so in the house and then in garden but I'm not doing it justice yet - I like a couple and I might post on Flickr in the next few days.
----------------
A young film maker who I know through my son came over later today and I lent him some old lenses of mine (all but one of them I'd be lucky to get $50 for on eBay).  He bought a Nikon Z 6 with his life savings late last year and has only got old DX lenses so I was happy to help out.  Most do not autofocus on a Nikon Z but they will give him an idea of what different FX lenses will look like on a full frame body.  I can tell he'll look after the lenses so I may lend him some better ones when the time comes.  He's set himself up a little business as a wedding photographer so I may lend him an autofocus zoom at some stage.

He won a competition (effectively a scholarship) for two years at a well-regarded Sydney film school starting in 2022 (when he finishes High School).  He's stoked as you can imagine (as are his parents!).  You can see the short here Until the End.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.