The House by the Shore

The day got off to a white start.  I had just finished the breakfast dishes when the Current Mrs Creel called me through to her new Music Room where she was just applying a further coat.  I put my foot in a tray of paint which she had placed just inside the door.  Oh how she laughed.  Somehow paint ended up on the back of Bibs’ neck.  Soon after time stood still as I tried to sort the printer; every time I printed a document it came out of the fridge.  Don’t ask.

I made my last batch of marmalade; thanks specifically to Munroist and Naturewatcher who guided me through the process.  They were so gentle.

CMC went across to Stromness for a walk with her accordion teacher; in the interests of public safety they didn’t take their accordions with them.  I went on a solo stravaig.  I met Jimmy Sinclair, across from Hoy with his dog to get provisions (whisky), I had a long chat on Ferry Road with Margaret Johnstone, spoke briefly to Derek Johnstone (no relation), saw John Aberdein and Marion Sutherland.  I was walking past Fletts (the butchers) when Angus called me in.  He gave me an update about the Orphir Parish Church.  As he dictated I noticed there was another batch of Seville oranges in so I bought some more. 

I’m beyond excited.  Other parts were played by Eleanor Bron, William Hartnell, Joyce Grenfell, Willie (Hearts and Hibs) Hamilton, Harry Langdon, Tony Soper, Isabelle Huppert, Walter McGowan, Dave, Dee, Dozy, Mick and Mike Raven.  John Clare, Neil Gunn and Nan Shepherd.

The highlight that I’m now looking forward to is my Covid jag, not so much the jag itself but it’s been far too long since I wrestled with a nurse.

Remember – never answer an echo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.