The Way I See Things

By JDO

Not. Happy.

This was the lane directly outside our house at about 2pm today. The extra shows the extent of the flood to the north side of us - probably a couple of hundred metres at that time, though it carried on raining, so I daresay the water spread further over the course of the afternoon. The couple in that photo stopped, consulted, decided not to risk the section where I was, and retreated. R waded out for a walk around the parish a little later on (while I stayed in and Facetimed with Daughter and Grandson - a much better idea, I felt), and reported back that the brook had burst its banks and was up over the road at the south end of village.

On the plus side, the last time I took a photo like this (a few years ago now), I was wearing cheap wellingtons, and discovered as I stepped into the flood that they leaked. These are decent boots and didn't leak, though the next time I have to buy a pair I'll pay the extra money and get Gore-Tex-lined ones: by the time I'd wandered about in this water for ten minutes, taking photos, my feet were so cold that it took me an hour to warm up when I got back into the house.

Apart from my ten minutes out in the road, and maybe five putting out bird food in the back garden, the only exercise I took today was leaping up and down on the sofa this evening and throwing my hands over my face, as R and I watched the last-ever couple of episodes of Spiral. It's possible that I may have drowned my tension in a small bucket of red wine.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.