Rob’s Snaps!

By RFotosince2021

The seven P’s

After a lovely day yesterday, the weekend has been somewhat curtailed by an overnighter doing systems testing. We were scheduled to start at midnight and wrap everything up by 12:30 this morning. However, apparently our IT partners had overlooked a bit of code in the test environment, or something, and the whole exercise dragged on until just after 3 am. Seems that there needs to be a fix and we may have to test again. 

My wife went to her morning yoga class and left me to sleep in. All good but I have been a low energy unit all day. Haven’t ventured out as yet, and so today’s photo will be a fallback board game shot.

Pax Pamir is a strategically deep card game heavily themed on the ‘Great Game’. In the early 19th century as local leaders tried to forge a new state (Afghanistan) the British and Russian empires attempted to use Central Asia as a theatre for their own rivalries. The game is played from the perspective of a local Khan. Your card play influences the game state, which is very fluid. The aim is to ensure your allegiance is to the dominant coalition at specific points during the course of the game. I managed a win today, which is rare for me in the solitaire format. I kept my tableau flexible and was able to switch allegiance at the crucial moment, planning ahead to chain favoured suit card effects to increase my influence just enough to secure the win.

I remember hearing of a military adage known as the seven p’s: “proper planning and preparation prevents p*** poor performance”. 

A shame our IT partners haven’t come across it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.