After darkness, hope for light

An article I read today likened the nation's daily walks from their doorsteps to the trudge of inmates around a prison exercise yard. I get that, doing the same few routes day after day.

But today, on my usual route march, I took a proper look at this handsome sundial high up on one of the older village houses in Dallington, and had a go at translating the motto around its edge. The last time I studied Latin was many moons ago at the age of 12, so forgive my translation. If any Latin scholars read this, please correct my efforts. ;-)

Dona praesentis
Cape Laetus horas
Post Tenebras spero lucem
Vita in motu vivere memento

The present is a gift
Seize the happy hours
After darkness I hope for light
Remember to live a life in motion

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.