challenge

By jkj10

Elizabeth in the Magical Light

The phone was ringing and the doorbell went,
The Bee is calling from upstairs.
Mom, Mom
I'm sick. I'm sick.
Help me Mom, I'm so sick.
Only one boot on flying up the stairs,
the bare foot caught in a tear in the seagrass and I'm down again.
The doorbell is ringing again and the mobile. Now the phone,
I'm so late, so late.
The painter showed up in tears.
His teenage daughter, pregnant.
Her life is ruined.
A delivery has arrived but I can't get to it.
I'm calling the school,
her exam will have to wait.
She is weak as a baby, she is insisting on coming in.
Begging her to stay in bed, trying to get out the door.
The room is spinning and I can't quite find anything to grab onto.


Elizabeth baked Zucchini bread, it all felt a bit calmer.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.