JodB

By JodB

Apollo 14

50 years ago today, Apollo 14 was launched towards the Moon, the first mission after the heroic failure of Apollo 13, and it was commanded by Alan Shepard, which was unique in a few ways; at age 47, he became the fifth, the oldest and the earliest-born to walk on the Moon, and was the only one of the Original Mercury 7 astronauts to do so (having also been the first American in Space 10 years previously).
As a very impressionable young lad, I watched the Apollo missions with fascination and awe, but it was to be 10 years later when I built this 2 1/2 ft tall Airfix scale model. It lay forgotten in my loft until last year, when I had a new roof, and therefore a loft-clear, and now it sits proudly on display again in my computer office!
This image shows the base section complete with five F1 engines, and it's in B/W due to severe discolouration of the original paint!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.