LesTension

By LesTension

HIGH SCHOOL WRESTLING

I was busy yesterday. I had to drive to Kiel a few miles north to shoot the WIAA D2 Wrestling Tournament. I have Blipped a few shots from that experience. Good to view in LARGE....especially when you see the last image. YES...girl's wrestle too. Mostly they wrestle boys and mostly they lose as they just cannot compete in the strength department. However, several girls have advanced to the State Tournament and did very well there. I should add that Interscholastic and Intercollegiate wrestling is NOTHING like the pre-determined crud you see on TV. This is a real sport and one of the original events in the original Olympic Games thousands of years ago.

Then I had to leave the scene before the final round when the champions are determined as I needed to drive back to the track (Road America) to shoot some on-sight activities that were part of the Schnee Days celebration in Elkhart Lake. Many fun events take place during Schnee Days; a 5K run in the snow, big dance where the King & Queen of the festival are crowned (not held this year due to COVID), skating and hockey at the Vollrath Park, sledding and Disc Golf at Road America and a Chili Cook-off, to name a few. I think all of you would really enjoy this event which is a staple of small town life. I will likely post some sledding and disc golf pix tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.