Wee Soul

Breagha’s eye was a lot worse this morning so called the Vet just after 9 and got an appointment for 945. It’s less than 5 mins in the car thankfully, so quickly got ready. The procedure at the Vets is that we call the reception on arrival in the car park. then when the Vet is ready he calls us on mobile for us to explain to him what is wrong, then he comes and picks up your animal at the door. Breagha trotted off quite happily and I was pleased to see it was Harvie who is so lovely and always complimentary about Breagha’s gentleness whenever we are there (which thankfully hasn’t been often). After he’s examined your pet he then calls you back on the mobile to discuss treatment. Breagha has conjunctivitis and also an ulcer, which filled me with dread but it’s not like if she was a popped eye dog like a pug or whatever where they would need an op. ( why they have bred dogs like this I dont know but that’s another story). We have two different eye drops to administer, and go back on Wednesday when Harvie is back in and time for them to work. He also checked her ears (ok) and mouth.
He said she was so patient in getting examined and I know she would have hated the moisture strips in her eyes the wee soul.

My heart aches when I see Breagha ageing - sometimes , like here, when I look at her sleeping in the middle of us (her spot) and snoring gently, seeing her face so white when it used to be dark. I think of how much pure joy she gives everyone in the family and how much we all love her and how empty the house would be without this absolute gem of a dog not in it. Almost 13 years of devotion she’s given us. It was a good day all these years ago when we chose this pup. Actually we didn’t choose her when I think of it, she was the only golden girl in the litter and I had asked Sheila for a golden girl if possible.

Later we had the Quiz and it was another few hours of laughs and bants. Cheered me up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.