Heather burning

The yoga session this morning was just what I needed - a good, balanced work out!

A quick lunch then I was off with the dogs to enjoy yet another magical sunny day. A couple of weeks ago I tried to go up to Loch Turret reservoir to see how it was looking but the narrow road was actually quite dangerous with sheet ice across much of the upper part so I had chickened out. Today was different as there had not been any rain for a while and the road was clear. On the way up I met this gorgeous beast who I had to keep an eye on as I got out of the car to open a gate, drive through and then jump out to close it again. She didn't move - just watched me with those beautiful eyes.

I had noticed the smoke from the beginning of the drive up but it wasn't until I reached the top that I realised that controlled heather burning was underway. Grouse thrive on heather on the slopes of hills like these and controlled burning is permitted in the spring, before nesting time, to create a patch where new heather shoots will emerge after the fire alongside other areas of older heather. This form of management provides a patchwork effect on the hills around here where gamekeepers like to keep the heather in good shape for the birds. The loch was almost completely frozen over and you can see just little slivers where it has melted to reveal tantalising smidegeons of reflections.

I didn't walk the dogs at the loch as there were some sheep on the lower slopes, opposite where the burning was taking place, so I took them for a romp on the moorland. There I noticed this magnificent buzzard sitting quietly, high in its tree top perch, calmly watching the dogs running beneath it - i am glad to say that they were not on his menu! So, I could have had three blips today but I hope you like the view of the frozen loch.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.