Life's tangled skein

By atp

2019-08-21 (Day 233) Nissan Leaf

With my car in for service today, I had a shot in this little beauty - and a fascinating experience it was, too.

It was the first time I hve ever driven an electric car. At first blush it felt very much like driving a normal autmatic, although as I got more used to to it I noticed more differences.

It certainly was nice to drive knowing there was no engine pounding away. But oh my, the range anxiety. I seldom let my car fall below having 200 miles worth of fuel left in the tank. This car had under 150 miles when fully charged.

I suspect that electric cars now are like the iPhone 4, or 386 PCs - on the cusp of huge advances in engineering and incredible improvements in performance. I think I'll wait a little while before jumping in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.