organized chaos

By gypsysunrainbow

Marching Bands of Manhattan

"I wish we could open our eyes
To see in all directions at the same time
Oh what a beautiful view
If you were never aware of what was around you
And it is true what you said
That I live like a hermit in my own head
But when the sun shines again
I'll pull the curtains and blinds to let the light in."

A strange song choice yes. But this is how I kind of feel about this picture. I wouldn't say I'm the most normal person, but who is? What is normal, anyways? But I've always been the oddball, and color, I think is one of the things that makes me an oddball. I've always loved art, and Crayola crayons started that for me when I was just a year old, and then two when I won a coloring contest. Then at three I got paints and an easel and painted along with Bob Ross on PBS every Sunday morning. Art is something that has stayed by me my whole life, which is amazing, because I am constantly changing. The only other love that consistent in my life is my love of Bruce Springsteen music.

Anyhow, I think I'm obsessive compulsive when it comes to color. Everything has to be in rainbow order. Every box of crayons, colored pencils, markers, pens, anything I get, I have to immediately dump out and rearrange so it is in color order. So, today, I decided to show my obsession with one box of my crayons which I arranged in rainbow order, adding in black/grays and pinks and browns at either end. So this is me, in a nutshell. Sometimes stuck a little in my own head, not able to end old habits and obsessions, like color.

Enjoy :O)

"Marching Bands of Manhattan"
Death Cab for Cutie

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.