Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

A Moment of Rest

I considered long and hard before posting this image of a grave digger in a local church. I don't know why but I wondered about the ethics of photographing someone digging graves. We had exchanged a few words of hello as I was walking around the graveyard. He had two graves to dig that day. I was looking for a suitable photo to blip.

Here he is standing in one of the open graves, enjoying the sunshine, taking a moment to relax in this "last place of rest".

I was taken by the pristine condition of the cemetery; the brightness of the lettering on the headstones, spent flowers neatly bagged awaiting the collection lorry, the path was swept and hedges trimmed. Not a bad place to work; or be put to rest.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.