St Brigid's Day

Dear Diary,

Today is the last day of my on-line class, The Blessing Thread and a celebration of St. Brigid.  This is an oaten cake often baked in Ireland to honor the saint.  It is made with buttermilk and oatmeal. A piece is left by the front door along with a piece of cloth or ribbon for her to bless last night.  The cross is cut in the cake before baking as a form of blessing but also to help the cake cook thoroughly.  I pan fry mine in butter and then top with Elderberry Jelly.  Delicious!  I've added a painting by the artist Marcy Hall who creates wonderfully whimsical "dancing saints", this one of St. Brigid one of the patron saints of Ireland.

Several years ago I visited Kildare in Ireland and stopped by St. Brigid's Well.  It is an unusual one having these two "shoes" that pilgrims would place their feet in.  I've added an extra photo of it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.