hildasrose

By hildasrose

New plant

This witch hazel was planted a few weeks ago and it seems to be doing reasonably well. I love the dishevelled nature of the flowers.

I am working on adding colourful perennials to the garden and have things on order.

I'm also working on the secret Garden where I am now waiting to buy some rhubarb, some beans and something else foolproof that we might be able to eat.

Then at the back of the house are the boggy woods where we have reduced the height of some fairly rotten trees and ivy. I am working on replacing those so it can continue to be a habitat where wildlife can thrive. So far I have put a honeysuckle amidst lots of old branches and stumps and this morning I planted a very young silver birch, a blackthorn, an elder and a cherry tree. Closer to the secret Garden and the stream I have decided to try for some more bushy type things and the supermarket now have a selection of plants in. More purchases then - cotoneaster, berberis, cistus and viburnum (?). Hope they all grow into lovely friendly plants.

When I was about 9 or 10 I remember being inspired by a teacher who used to bring loads of plants into school and I took over the verandah at home with cuttings of busy lizzy, spider plants and tradescantia. Mom never complained! 56 years later I am enjoying having the garden and extra little bits to experiment with.

We have been in our new house for 6 months now!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.