Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Live View

Day 314 of UK COVID-19 Pandemic.  First UK Vaccine 56 days ago. UK in full lockdown.

My uncle Trefor (dad's brother) was diagnosed with colon cancer and terminally ill, and a few weeks ago was admitted to hospital where he contracted COVID-19 from which he died last month. He would have been 87 this month. Today was his his funeral.

Due to the Coronavirus lockdown and restrictions only a handful were allowed to the crematorium, with all others being given a live stream link to watch the service. My dad watched it at home with my sister. The blipfoto is a photo' of Trefor's daughter Liz reciting a poem she'd written about him. Ironic they call it live stream at a funeral !!

Trefor was a bank manager in cental London and when he retired moved to  Milford on Sea. His love was long distance walking (whole of Offas Dyke footpath etc) and ultra marathons. He regularly did South Downs one until he was 78. The blipfoto shows him doing one of them.

I thought I'd post this as my blip as it's pertinent to the times we're living and a record of my day. Trefor was a lovely bloke. The next oldest to my dad whom my sister said was very upset. Distressing that he coudn't attend his own brothers funeral.

R.I.P.   Trefor

PS:    The Poem cousin Liz wrote and read:-

By dad, I also mean husband, grandad and great grandad. 
I searched around for poems,
That you might read for your dad.
Remembering all his attributes, 
The ways and gifts he had.
 
Though all were nicely written, 
And captured classic traits,
I couldn't find a one to fit,
To see dad through the gates.
 
The right words, what we needed,
None met my tough critique,
To capture all the qualities
That made our dad unique.
 
He wasn't touchy-feely, 
Nor overly hands-on.
He wasn't one for barbeques
Or sitting in the sun.
 
He wasn't one for reading,
Though he loved a reference book.
He wasn't one for cooking,
Though to bread-making he took.
 
He was a loyal husband,
Relied on to provide.
His family never went without,
We've had a blessed ride.
 
He never pressured to achieve,
Nor made demands on us.
He coached us that we do our best,
He didn't make a fuss.
 
He loved his food and vino,
Offset with exercise.
Completed walks and marathons,
Great strength from foot to thigh.
 
Now I've....
Inherited not his number skills,
Nor zest for endless miles.
I can't do cryptic crosswords,
And still struggle over stiles.
 
I can't recycle like he did.
I'm not so daily driven.
I'll never match his admin skills,
Nor all the gifts he's given.
 
But I...
Trust his kindness has passed down,
His loyalty and laughter.
His faithfulness to family,
Great gifts for ever after.
 
I hope my little poem has
Said some of what we had.
And proudly carry on in us,
In memory of our dad.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.