A beginner's eye

By Suzzington

Best Friends

Sometimes, someone walks into your life and you find that you never want them to walk out of it again. My best friend is one of those people.

This morning as I was leaving the house, I just happened to notice that there was something trapped behind the inside flap of my letter box. I pulled it out and it was a Royal Mail while you were out card, all rolled up.

I'm lucky I even saw it to be honest, but it was addressed to my maiden name so I had a feeling it must be something nice from one of my friends (I am divorced now, but I kept my married name because it was easier than contacting the bank, all the utilities, changing my passport, driving licence etc. I originally figured I'd change all that when I got married again, but 12 years down the line I'm still waiting for someone who could convince me he's worth all that hassle!!)

Anyway, I had no idea what my delivery could be, so off I went to the sorting office. I was a bit nervous as I was queuing, because there are signs all over the place informing you that you must have identification, and if you're collecting someone else's mail you need their identification. I don't have any ID in my maiden name!! Luckily for me, the postman that served me was clearly a bit of a slacker and he gave me the parcel anyway.

I got home, and spent about 5 minutes trying to get through all the bloody parcel tape without damaging my mystery gift...

It is absolutely the most wonderful thing I've ever received. There are 10 pages, each with a little pocket. Each pocket is stuffed with little quotes about love, friendship, and our own little anecdotes and quirks.

I smiled, laughed big huge belly laughs, and I cried a little too.

My friend LeeAnne is the bestest friend anyone could ever wish for, and she absolutely made my day. So much thought, care and love went into it, and nobody will ever receive anything quite like it because she made it for me.

She is, without question, the loveliest, cleverest, sweetest, most thoughtful person I've ever met in my whole entire life. And I'm so very very lucky to be able to call her my best friend, and I shall treasure both my book and LeeAnne for ever and ever.

Pssst... LeeAnne... Is that button making you twitch yet?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.