Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

A mild day

Last night the competition at our camera club was on the themed subject of 'People'. Many entrants were disappointed last night, including myself, when the judge penalised entries that were of one person, as he said that the subject of people meant the plural and so it required more than one person in the image. The majority of the entries were images of one person, as portraits or candid shots, as in the past this is what was acceptable. This morning our chairman apologised to the members and said that next time he would make it perfectly clear to the judge that the theme of people allowed images of a single person.

It was a lovely mild day, sunny and bright, and so I had a pleasant walk with Xena in the woods where she played with so many other dogs. I could hardly believe that in Yorkshire and other places there was a heavy snowfall today.

I had my last session on the textures course today, we presented our images and they were discussed and constructive advice was given. I have learnt so much from this course, it is good that we can still do things like this on Zoom. This was through the Royal Photographic Society and I have signed up for another session on portraits.

Today I cancelled my flights to Stornoway (Harris and Lewis) as Loganair changed the flights for the 6th time and they just don't work with the connecting flights from Heathrow. We doubt the trip will go ahead as it is from the second week of March when we probably will still be in lockdown, so we have taken the view now to cancel it. I don't feel safe flying anywhere at the moment - which makes me wonder why Captain Tom Moore flew to Barbados in December (when we were not meant to fly unless it was essential). We had a family argument about this as I feel it was reckless of him to fly there, but Tommy says at 100 years old he probably just wanted a great holiday and did not care about the consequences. Sadly he died today from Coronavirus, and he dies a national hero.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.