A grey day

A grey day for several reasons.
First, the weather. Dull and grey, although halfway the afternoon it became a bit white. Sleet, snow mixed with rain. Nothing to get exited about. Only because I had to pick up our ordered groceries in Appingedam I went out, otherwise I would have stayed inside for the rest of the day.

The second reason for being grey, is a phonecall I received this morning concerning my father. The manager of the home care called me around 11.00 and informed me about some worrisome developments. My dad is getting more and more confused because of his dementia. Of course I knew that, but hearing it from an expert is something else.
She suggested to have a talk about that in the near future with my mother, my sister and me. She thinks it's best to anticipate on the inevitable and that is to appy now for a heavier care indication for my dad. Chances are he will have to be admitted to a nursing ward. Not now, not in a few months, who knows when... but it's better for him to be put on a waiting list now, before it's too late.
That news, although I've known it to be coming somewhere in time, put a thick grey layer on my day and mood. 
Things I'd put in the back of my mind for a while suddenly were in the centre of the attention again. Pfff..... 

I had a coffee after the phonecall, and tried to concentrate on my work again, but around 14.30 I gave in and went home.
After another coffee with Annemarie and the boys, I found myself sitting behind the piano, fiddling with some simple chords  (D, A and G) and suddenly I recognized the song ' 't het nog nooit zo donker west' by Ede Staal. That was weird! 
After some more fiddling I played it and Annemarie came in, asking 'Where does that come from so suddenly?'

To conclude the day:
Press conference at 19.00, announcing an extension of the lockdown until March 2nd. If that isn't grey, I don't know what is.

Oh, and my haircut is 5 weeks overdue! With several more weeks to go!!
Not long until I have to look out for some hair pins. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.