Stokketjie

By Stokketjie

Under water

This path is along my running route but currently under water. I thought it followed on nicely with my boat for a boat blip yesterday. Another good use to get a little dingy. This boat, ‘Mary Pippins’, (another narrowboat naming pun - see OnionBargeG blip) is usually moored up here and I have seen the owners wade out a couple of times so I am glad they have figured out some sort of work around to get from shore to, well, shore.

Today I was particularly grateful for friends and having good colleagues. Makes almost any work load feel surmountable. Definitely not something I always had in the past and very lucky to have found the place I am at now.

My mom also once again inspired me today by her courage to do something she hasn’t before. Go for a long hike in the snow. (Not something we did growing up, walking on the beach, yes, snow? not so much). She was following a footpath by footprints in the snow until the footprints (and footpath being covered in snow) disappeared. And now? Along came a woman who knew the area well. They established they were both going in the same direction, and the woman kindly went ahead and my mom once again had footprints to follow in the snow. If it wasn’t for this ‘guardian angel’ there is a possibility my mom might have still been looking for the path home, although equipped with an epic headlamp and a book on hikes in the Peak District I am confident she would have found her way home :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.