paperTIGER

By papertiger

Child's Play.

Children are not the audience of the future. Rather, they are the citizens of the here-and-now, with important cultural entitlements. An 8 year old is not a third of a 24 year old, a quarter of a 32 year old, or a fifth of a 40 year old. Being 8 is a whole experience ... there are understandings and meanings particular to being 8.

-- Martin Drury


On Monday a new banner went up at the front of the theatre for our festival of work for children and young people in the Easter holidays.

I have spent my whole day today, pretty much, with 8 -13 year olds, in schools and youth theatres.

I will be taking a bunch of them to see Visible Fictions' The Mark of Zorro in April. They are one of Scotland's leading theatre companies producing work for and with young audiences.

I can't wait to hear the children talk about it afterwards.

I think they might actually burst!!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.