Mostly Six Five Oh

By nhc

Broadway

Had some rain overnight but today is gorgeous.

My aunt died yesterday, I'm adjusting to the fact that I am never going to see her again.  Funny memories have been surfacing.  She was always getting locked out of places, it was one of her many quirks.  There was a trip to Northern France my brother and I took with her and her partner when we were children, she got locked out of their hotel room when she'd bopped down the hall to make sure we were all right in our room.  It involved a running bath, key left in room as the door unexpectedly latched behind her as the courant d'air from the windows she'd opened pushed the door closed.  She calmly went to the front desk to ask for the spare key, oh, no spare key, the previous occupants of the room had left without returning it.  No, no master key.  So a ladder, the first not long enough, so a second had to be sought from further afield to reach the room (the hotel was an old chateau on a bluff), and the shutting off of the water to the whole hotel.  And remembering the hoteliers being completely scandalized that my aunt had opened the windows!  It made me laugh out loud remembering it as I was out today.

Had a cathartic conversation with a neighbor today, he rolled up in his car, clearly in a state, engine still running he unloaded his tale of woe.  Poor guy.  We got talking about some other stuff and I got to unload too.  Thanks for listening he said, yeah, thank you too, I replied.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.