Flood meadow sunset

A hotch-potch sort of a day, which started with me completing the final edit of my last major paid report of the winter - a cause for celebration.

At lunchtime I watched an inspirational Plantlife webinar in which Trevor Dines explained how he'd converted a grassy field in North Wales into a stunning wildflower meadow. His enthusiasm was infectious - a really uplifting and educational hour, which has been recorded so will be available for viewing on the Plantlife Youtube channel.

After this good start to the day there were a few minor irritations, so I headed out for a walk - initially this didn't do much to raise my spirits as everywhere is just so muddy, and as soon I'd left the house the clouds descended again. On the way back home I decided to stop at Ferry Meadows to see how the floods were progressing - arriving just as the sun appeared from behind the clouds. I then spent a very peaceful half hour watching the sun set over the Nene floodplain.

Back home for another Plantlife Webinar on road verges, which was very well presented but didn't introduce anything new to me - which is just what I'd been hoping for, as I'm currently very involved in trying to influence our local Council to manage their road verges more sympathetically. 

I now can't stop yawning so an early night's in store I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.