Chinotto

I'm rather proud of this - I planted it last year, and already have fruits, and lots more flowers.  Very slow growing which is perfect.  I do rather well with citrus.  I have: lemon, lime, navel orange, finger lime, mandarin and now Chinotto.

Chinotto is rather like a cumquat, but is a different species.  I had to really search for it, after I saw a specimen in a friend's garden.   Personally I shall make a delicious marmalade with it.

Here's an extract from Mr.Wikipedia.

"Citrus myrtifolia, the myrtle-leaved orange tree, is a species of Citrus  with foliage similar to that of the common myrtle. It is a compact tree with small leaves and no thorns which grows to a height of three metres (10 ft) and can be found in Malta, Libya, the south of France and Italy (primarily in Liguria, typically Savona, and also in Tuscany, Sicily, and Calabria). The fruit of the tree resemble small oranges.  It has a bitter flavor and is commonly called by its Italian name, chinotto. It is an essential flavouring agent of the popular Campari aperitif, and of several brands of carbonated soft drinks that are generically called "chinotto".
Citrus myrtifolia is sometimes planted in gardens. Due to its compactness, it can also be planted in a pot or other container".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.