karisfitch

By karisfitch

Magic

I’m a bit of a hoarder when it comes to sentimental things...it must drive Mum crazy! I have a drawer full of reminders of memories I want to keep...I think even including a bus ticket from a nice bus journey I wanted to remember (excessive, I know.) But this little piece of paper will be added to the drawer.

After the handover I asked a doctor if I could go and see one particular girl on the ward. She told me not to bother - that she hadn’t engaged at all, that there was very little chance of her speaking to me. It actually made me quite angry how the doctor spoke about her - pigeonholing her as a moody and aggressive teenager.

But she was so different from that picture painted - honest and open about what she was going through, just sometimes struggling to find the words to describe it. As anyone her age, in her shoes would. She was just a child - who loved doing magic tricks, and couldn’t wait to show someone. She spent a while showing me, each time saying “I’ve one more, do you want to see it??” with that endearing childlike excitement. We talked about her dreams for the future. I wish I could see her again - to know how she does after this. She doesn’t have it easy. But she promised me she would keep going.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.